Gretzky, Yzerman & Bure named in 2020 hockey hall of fame

Gretzky was named by the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 2003, but his place in history was assured two years later by the sport’s ruling body, which decided Gretzky had been too young to be eligible for consideration.

On Thursday night, Gretzky’s latest accolade was secured when the Hockey Hall of Fame voted him into the Class of 2020.

A record 832 voters were asked to back Gretzky, a list which included seven of the hockey club Gretzky captained, three of the NHL all-time goal-scoring leaders, and one of hockey’s all-time best goaltenders.

Gretzky’s induction in 2020 follows that of former Detroit Red Wings captain Steve Yzerman in 2011 and Pavel Bure in 2013.

Past inductees in the Class of 2020

Year Player YZ

2004 Carolina Hurricanes Joe Juneau

2005 Minnesota Wild Bob Mason

2006 Detroit Red Wings Steve Yzerman

2007 Anaheim Ducks Mark Recchi

2008 Philadelphia Flyers Bobby Clarke

2009 Chicago Blackhawks Eddie Shack

2010 Minnesota Wild Glenn Anderson

2011 Detroit Red Wings Steve Yzerman

2012 Pittsburgh Penguins Gretzky

2013 Washington Capitals Pavel Bure

Leave a Comment